22
Apr
07

Required Reading (Part I)

I’ve been absolutely swamped with work lately, and because I haven’t had time to devote to making any analytical posts, I decided to start this serialized post. Here are my nominees for “required reading” on Southern history in the category of memoirs and autobiographies. I’ll add my favorite historical works, and maybe even fiction at some point. So without further ado…

Blood Done Sign My Name
Timothy Tyson, Blood Done Sign My Name

Autobiography of Malcolm X
The Autobiography of Malcolm X

The Desegregated Heart
Sarah Patton Boyle, The Desegregated Heart

Coming of Age in Mississippi
Anne Moody, Coming of Age in Mississippi

Separate Pasts
Melton McLaurin, Separate Pasts

Killers of the Dream
Lillian Smith, Killers of the Dream

Black Like Me
John Howard Griffin, Black Like Me

The Making of Black Revolutionaries
James Forman, The Making of Black Revolutionaries

Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass
Frederick Douglass, Narrative of the Life of Frederick Douglass

Of course, there are plenty of other books that I could have put on this list. But I’ll leave that for you to do. Please feel free to offer your own suggestions—keep it to memoirs and autobiographies, though, as I plan to add to this list in several parts. I expect I’ll get some great recommendations, and hopefully some that I’ve not yet read.

2 Responses to “Required Reading (Part I)”


  1. 1 Mon
    April 26, 2007 at 7:38 pm

    Good list–I haven’t read a couple of those–maybe one day! I enjoyed Radio Free Dixie so I’ll have to definitely check out Tyson’s work. I would perhaps add (for archival value) Susie King Taylor’s Black Woman Civil War Memoirs or Ida B. Wells’ Memphis Diaries.

  2. 2 Tim Tyson
    September 1, 2009 at 7:09 pm

    I’d add Will Campbell’s BROTHER TO A DRAGONFLY, Theodore Rosengarten’s ALL GOD’S DANGERS: THE LIFE OF NATE SHAW, which is really the subject’s own oral autobiography, and Harry Crews’s CHILDHOOD: THE BIOGRAPHY OF A PLACE.


Leave a Reply

Currently Reading

Dennis Covington, Salvation on Sand Mountain

categories


