13
Apr
07

Worthless Apologies

Don Imus. What can I say that hasn’t already been said? Believe it or not, I actually didn’t plan to write about him, but after I titled this post, I realized I couldn’t help but mention his name. I won’t weigh in on the Imus fiasco except to say that I wish I could have been a fly on the wall during his meeting with C. Vivian Stringer and her Rutgers players last night.

Speaking of worthless apologies, noted historian James Cobb recently published an op-ed in the The New Republic (also available on his blog without registration) arguing that all of these recent apologies for slavery are actually bad for blacks, and he makes a compelling argument.

I’ll admit that I was impressed by the first apologies, and generally think that any public acknowledgment that slavery was wrong is a step in the right direction. However, I did find it curious that they began to snowball, and after reading Cobb’s take, I’m considerably more skeptical now.

0 Responses to “Worthless Apologies”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Currently Reading

Dennis Covington, Salvation on Sand Mountain

categories


